Photo by goldyrocks/iStock / Getty Images

Board of Directors

The Canadian Energy Research Institute has established a reputation for successful achievement in the area of energy research. Its continuing success and reputation are dependent on its research remaining objective and non-partisan as well as relevant to the times. A number of factors serve to assist the Institute to meet its goals. The Institute's funding structure is designed to encourage support from the Canadian Government at the Federal and Provincial levels as well as a broad cross-section of private sector energy interests in order to minimize dependence upon any single source of funding from within the business community. Public sector support from across Canada contributes to the assessment of energy issues from both national and regional perspectives.

The board of directors consists of representatives of the Institute's sponsor organizations and embodies a unique range of experience and expertise.


Mr. Mike Cleland

View Mr. Cleland's biography




Mr. Terry Abel
Executive Vice President
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers

View Mr. Abel's biography







Mr. Kendall Dilling
Vice President, Environment and Regulatory
Cenovus Energy Inc

View Mr. Dilling's biography








Mr. Michael W. Ekelund
Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Revenue and Operations Division
Alberta Department of Energy

View Mr. Ekelund's biography




Mr. Allan Fogwill
President and CEO
Canadian Energy Research Institute

View Mr. Fogwill's biography









Mr. Kevin Heffernan

View Mr. Heffernan's biography









Mr. Marco Presutti
Director General, ES/EPB/DGO
Natural Resources Canada

View Mr. Presutti's biography








Dr. Edward McCauley, PhD. FRSC
Vice President, Research
University of Calgary

View Dr. McCauley's biography